Homes for Sale in Historic Oakwood, Raleigh, NC


Historic OakwoodAbout Historic Oakwood

Historic Oakwood is located “inside the beltline” on the north side of downtown Raleigh.  Oakwood contains Raleigh’s largest collection of nineteenth-century Victorian-era dwellings and its richest diversity of architectural styles overall .  It was developed primarily between 1880 and 1930.

Historic Oakwood is a large neighborhood teeming with architectural interest. Although the street plan is a strictly linear grid system with several one way streets,  blocks and individual parcels vary in size and shape. Oakwood’s rolling topography adds to the diversity of the landscape.  The architectural variety of the Victorian period combined with the emerging new styles popular in the early twentieth century create a visually vibrant district.

Later building brought the bungalow, the foursquare, Craftsman style, and the Minimal Traditional house to Historic Oakwood.  Along Bloodworth Street north of Polk Street stand examples of a Craftsman bungalow, a simpler front-gabled bungalow, and a minimal traditional house with colonial revival details. Around the corner on Polk Street, west of Bloodworth, is another lovely Craftsman bungalow with stone accents and a deep, sheltered front porch.

History of Oakwoodhistoric oakwood

Oakwood is Raleigh’s earliest  middle-class suburb, complementing the upper-middle-class suburbs along North Blount and Hillsborough Streets in the late nineteenth century. It is widely known for its’ historic cemetary .  Historic Oakwood is a  neighborhood of lovingly-restored Victorian and early 20th-century homes in a great variety of styles and sizes, many with beautiful gardens.  Unlike Raleigh’s later suburbs, Oakwood developed slowly, often lot-by-lot rather than in platted sections. The oldest dwellings generally stand south of North and Lane Streets and west of East Streets; these streets mark the earliest city limits.  The houses here feature more high-style detailing than later houses. Several are also individually recognized as Local Historic Landmarks.

As the population grew, the neighborhood pushed beyond the city limits. Vernacular houses went up, like the Triple-A cottages found at the south end of Elm Street and on Jones Street where Elm Street terminates. Though much smaller than Oakwood’s earlier houses, these dwellings blended well with the developing streetscape, matching the setbacks of the earlier houses and featuring similarly scaled front porches.

Development continued through the first decades of the twentieth century, evidenced by popular architectural styles found mixed with Victorian styles. In the late 1960s and 1970s, the neighborhood went through a period of decline as people began to move to newer suburbs north and west.  When plans for a highway threatened to split Oakwood in two, residents turned to the relatively new historic preservation tools now at their disposal, listing Oakwood as both a National Register of Historic Places District and a Local Historic District. The highway that was to divide Oakwood was scrapped.

Homes in Historic Oakwood

Since its designation as a Local Historic District, Oakwood has seen a healthy amount of new construction meeting design guidelines on previously empty parcels and on newly subdivided sections.  Many of the original homes have been painstakingly restored to maintain their original stature and beauty. Some of the more run down homes have also been leveled to have new construction replace them, again meeting guidelines of the area.  The neighborhood is once again vibrant and stable. Homes in this area typically range in price from the low $300’s to the  high $600’s.

For more information on homes located in Historic Oakwood, contact real estate pro Ernie Behrle.


Historic Oakwood

Advanced Options

North Carolina has a system of county public school systems. School assignments in this area are done by specific address. To view actual school assignments for the current or upcoming school year for any home you are interested in, please use the following links.
WAKE COUNTY ( includes the majority of Raleigh, Cary, Knightdale, Wake Forest, Wendell & Zebulon )